The historic Dr. Flick Cabin, the oldest building in the Black Hills as it sits in Way Park.

Way Park

Located in downtown Custer and home to the oldest known building in the Black Hills.

About

Way Park sits across the street from the 1881 Courthouse Museum, and contains one of the most historically significant structures in all of South Dakota. The Dr. Flick Cabin, a 24' x 16' hand-hewn log structure, is the oldest known building still in existence in the Black Hills. Construction was started in 1875 by Doctor Daniel W. Flick just as Custer City was getting its start, but before he could finish it, General George Crook arrived with the U.S. Army to remove all non-native settlers from the Black Hills, forcing Dr. Flick and other miners to walk to Fort Laramie. Captain Edwin Pollock's military unit then finished the cabin and used it as headquarters. When Dr. Flick returned in 1876 he found it occupied by the famous "Poet Scout" Captain Jack Crawford, leading to one of the first civil lawsuits in Custer County history. The cabin was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1973. Way Park also features a memorial dedicated to Horatio N. Ross, the discoverer of gold in the Black Hills on July 27, 1874, along with picnic tables and restrooms.

Photos

Dr. Flick historic cabin set at the back of Way Park in downtown Custer, SD.
Way Park courtyard with picnic tables and monument oin downtown Custer, SD.